Thursday, June 30, 2011

Marie Laveau

This is the tomb of the famous Voodoo Queen Marie Laveau located in the downtown New Orleans cemetery "St. Joseph No. 1". Sometimes referred to as "The Wishing Tomb" legend has it that a ritual that includes drawing three X's on the tomb and leaving behind a "token" would grant the performer a wish.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Safe and Secure

Not sure what the story here is but I couldn't help wondering how this bicycle frame ended up locked to a post on Bourbon Street!

Monday, June 27, 2011

Bourbon Street Musicians

Street musicians playing on Bourbon Street in on our recent trip to New Orleans.

Friday, June 24, 2011

Laura's Pantry

Back at the Louisiana plantation "Laura", this shot is of the pantry at the big house.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

National Mammal of Texas

I decided to drive through the Baytown Nature Center on the way home from work yesterday evening to see if the recent rain had stirred up any activity. I was leaving when I spotted this juvenile armadillo digging for grubs on the side of the road. It had absolutely no fear of me, guess it was too young, and I think I took this shot of it from about 5 feet away!

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Louisiana Plantation Laura

An exterior shot of Laura, one of the historic old Louisiana plantations outside of New Orleans.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Oak Alley Plantation 3

A shot of the side yard at Oak Alley Plantation in Louisiana.

Monday, June 20, 2011

Tombeau Crypt

This shot of a weathered old crypt was shot at the downtown cemetery in New Orleans famous for being the burial site of the famous Voodoo Queen Marie Laveau.

Friday, June 17, 2011

Oak Alley Plantation 2

The backyard at Oak Alley isn't too shabby either!

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Oak Alley Plantation

Oak Alley, named after the 28 ancient oaks that lead to the main house, is the most photographed plantation in Louisiana and has been featured in many movies including "Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte."

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Whistling Ducks at Lake Martin

Whistling Ducks in a tree in the Lake Martin swamp.

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Lake Martin Lilly Pool

I like the way the water pooled on top of many of the lilly pads floating on Lake Martin.

Monday, June 13, 2011

Lake Martin Swamp Tour_4

Another shot from the Lake Martin swamp Tour.

Friday, June 10, 2011

Lake Martin Swamp Tour_3

This shot is part of the view from the dock at the Lake Martin, LA landing where our recent swamp tour started.

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Lake Martin Swamp Tour_2

Another shot from our recent tour of Lake Martin swamp in Louisiana.

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Swamp Dog

Jessie, one of Marcus de la Houssaye's Catahoula hog dogs, splits his time on swamp tours between looking on the bow of the boat on alligator watch and napping.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Lake Martin Swamp Tour_1

My wife and I took a three hour tour of the swamps surrounding Lake Martin near Lafayette, La. from guide Marcus de la Houssaye this past Friday morning. The tour is highly recommended if your ever in the area.

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Memorial Day 2011_4

One more shot from Saturday's Memorial Day service....

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Memorial Day 2011_3

Another shot from Monday's Memorial Day services in Baytown.