Friday, April 29, 2011

BNC Magnolia Blossom

A honey bee on a Magnolia flower taken this past weekend at the Baytown Nature Center.

Thursday, April 28, 2011

No this is not a Peter Lik photo from Death Valley! It's another shot from the Baytown Nature Center taken last weekend. This bog would normally have anywhere from a few inches to a foot of water, but it has been dry for the last couple of weeks.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

BNC Wild Flowers

The dry season this year has been rough on wild flower production but there are still some around. I photographed this patch last weekend at the Baytown Nature Center.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Key West Dude

Street photography from our recent cruise to Key West.

Monday, April 25, 2011

Fear The Beak

Taken yesterday at the Baytown Nature Center, the bait fish this shore bird was fishing for jumped for survival whenever the bird's beak hit the water.

Friday, April 15, 2011

Meeting in the Mangroves

Our guide stopped us under the canopy of the mangroves for a short meeting to discuss the benefits of mangroves to an islands ecosystem. This photo and the two previous were shot with a Panosonic Lumix TS3 waterproof rugged digital point and shoot camera.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Ben's Cave

A shot from inside the open top "Ben's Cave" in Lucyan National Park in Freeport, Bahamas. Most of what is floating on the waters surface is calcium picked up by surface water leaching through the caves limestone roof.

Wednesday, April 13, 2011


Kayaks lined up and at the ready for a trip down a mangrove lined salt water creek in Lucayan National Park in Freeport, Bahamas.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Nassau Street Vendor

An artist selling original art near the straw market in Nassau, Bahamas.

Monday, April 11, 2011

Jamie and Freind

Jamie enjoys an "adult" beverage poolside on the aft Lido deck. "What happens on the cruise stays on the cruise!"

Friday, April 8, 2011


The architecture of "Atlantis" in the Bahamas is one of the most recognizable in the world. I had always assumed the connecting structure between the two buildings was a crosswalk, but our jeep tour guide said it is actually a suite available to anyone willing to pay the $25,000.00 per night room rate!

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Carvin Wood

One of the booths selling wood carvings at the open market in Nassau, Bahamas.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011


I'm not sure but I think every Carnival cruise offers a little island style steel drum music on the upper deck at poolside at some point during a cruise. These guys kept the party going at least a couple of hours a day.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

He Sells Sea Shells

This gentleman was selling conch shells and star fish outside of the straw market at Nassau in the Bahamas.

Monday, April 4, 2011

Caribbean Cruise 1

A fish eye view of the cruise terminal in Nassau in the Bahamas, part of a cruise of the eastern Caribbean we just returned from.